SWEET

sweet1

Sometimes God’s revelation is like a suspense/mystery story: He gives us an odd trail of clues, one by one; then suddenly they all come together and it makes sense—the case is resolved. That’s how it was these past few weeks with some unsolved mysteries I wanted answered about speaking in tongues. I watched a snippet of a video where a guy was saying it should be “speaking with tongues,” not “speaking in tongues” but I looked it up and both prepositions are used in the Bible. I wasn’t familiar with using the “with” version, and that was the Lord’s first clue for me.

 

Then, circumstances came up and I wanted to use this kind of speaking in tongues prayer more often. I needed a reminder in the physical realm to trigger my mind, so I contacted my brother who is involved with a ministry that used to sell red coffee cups with the anagram S.I.T. on them, which stands for Speak In Tongues. He told me they didn’t sell them anymore. That was clue number two. Okay, what to do now?

 

I still had the urgent need to speak in tongues more. I was being barraged with the temptation to fixate on how twisted and unsound people have become and my thoughts would keep circling around this. I knew I didn’t want these thoughts to overtake me. The Bible says speaking with tongues is rest to the soul. I desperately needed that rest, and not the agitation I was experiencing in my mind and emotions.

 

Jesus told me I should speak in tongues, because that way I’d get His wisdom and I would be trusting His answers to my prayers. I could bypass the AK47s of thoughts blasting my mind. If I was thinking about speaking in tongues, I couldn’t be thinking about people.

 

I’m not a person who is great at speaking with tongues automatically so I needed a stimulus as a reminder. Because I couldn’t get the cups from my brother, I needed a different solution. Clue number 3: Make one myself.

 

The next breadcrumb was the still small voice of God to my spirit: “Study the verses you know about speaking with tongues.” (Clue number 4). So I did. I went to 1 Corinthians 14. Verse 2 says: “He that speaketh in an unknown tongue speaketh not unto men, but unto God.” Verse 5 says: “I would that ye all spake with tongues.” Verse 15 says: “I will pray with the spirit.” And in verse 18 Paul tells the church: “I thank my God, I speak with tongues more than ye all.” Verse 28 tells us this fact about speaking in tongues: “Let him speak to himself, and to God.” WOW, spirit words to myself—how healing is that?!

 

Then the Lord brought it all together with a new level of revelation on this kind of prayer. He told me to write down the acronym, S.W.T. (for “speak with tongues”). Then I was to say it. But when I said it, it came out sounding like “swit,” which was actually the cool part! I wrote it down and realized it had the “W” for “with tongues,” and the “I” for “in tongues.” Then just as quickly the next three words came: SWAT, SWEAT, SWEET. So now I had: “SWIT, SWAT, SWEAT and SWEET.”

 

SWIT is what it is: speaking with tongues and/or speaking in tongues.

 

SWAT is like a SWAT team that goes in to take care of business. This new level of speaking in tongues, for me, and probably for you too, is not sitting around in an easy chair, but aggressively going after the enemy—SWAT—like swatting a gnat or a fly, to kill it. Spiritual prayer by way of speaking in tongues is a weapon against the enemy, whether that enemy is outside or inside us.

 

The great thing is that this prayer is from God, so our own sarcastic ways or bitter or vengeful selves don’t get to be in the way! Speaking with tongues is absolutely perfect prayer, because God gives the words. It’s spiritually and naturally powerful. Romans 8:26-27 tells us a great truth about this kind of praying:

 

“The Spirit also helpeth our infirmities: for we know not what we should pray for as we ought: but the Spirit itself maketh intercession for us with groanings which cannot be uttered. And he that searcheth the hearts knoweth what is the mind of the Spirit, because he maketh intercession for the saints according to the will of God.”

 

When we SWAT the enemy with God’s words, not our own, it’s just way more effective!

 

SWEAT indicates work. At the shop on Friday, I watched Hector and Mike move pieces of drywall weighing 120 pounds each, in 108-degree weather. When Hector finished, his whole face was wet. Working up a sweat is invigorating. Athletes, ironworkers, carpenters, miners, plasterers, fighters—we all should know what it means to work and sweat. It feels good to break through and get all the toxins out!

 

And the reward is:

 

SWEET! It’s refreshing, like a cool shower. Victory is SWEET! –Won through battle and sweat – true victory to those who are courageous and willing to battle and make sacrifices if necessary for the sake of truth and freedom in Christ Jesus.

 

SWIT.   SWAT.   SWEAT.    SWEET.       This is my call to arms, a challenge to excel. Think of speaking in tongues, or speaking with tongues in a new, more aggressive, battle-ready frame of mind. I’m excited about the Sweet rewards and I think you will be too.

 

Love, Carolyn

 

EXCITING SUMMERTIME STORIES:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/search?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=9325&index=aps&keywords=WINGS%20Carolyn%20molica&linkCode=ur2&tag=jmbcsds-20&linkId=XQMVLVZYNBLYAGEM

Leave a comment