DARE DEVILS

We’ve heard the term, but is it real? The answer is yes.

What is a dare devil? It is an evil spirit that dares people to do something that is obviously stupid, risky and life-threatening. It’s the spirit that quietly whispers, “What would happen if you just drove off this cliff?” “What would happen if you barely touched that hotwire?” When the dare comes, we always know in our conscience that it is wrong but we still wonder, “What would happen if I did it anyway?” The evil spirit says, “I dare you.”

My roommate told me the story of Loreen: “We played softball together and I knew her since she was 11. Loreen had a cocky attitude and liked to do dangerous and foolish things. She thought the consequences would never catch up to her. But ultimately she died in a gunshot accident at 27 years old.” There was a construction accident here in Las Vegas where a guy fell into an open elevator shaft. The area was cordoned off in red danger tape and it was obvious that no one was supposed to cross it. I’ve always wondered if the guy had been tempted by one of these spirits and risked it. The thing about this kind of devil spirit is that somehow it gets a person to actually consider doing a really stupid thing, if only for a second. But what happens in that second is life changing one way or the other. These dare devil spirits go for the jugular; they don’t fool around and death is their aim.

After being rescued from this several times in my younger years, I now know what to do when the dare devil throws me a fast ball. Slam him out of the park! I rely on the authority in the name of Jesus Christ and speak to the spirit directly (just like when Jesus talked directly to the fig tree). I say, “Shut up and get away from me right now, in the name of Jesus Christ.”  I know and believe James 4:7 that says, “Resist the devil, and he will flee from you.” And I believe and claim Philippians 2:9-10, “That at the name of Jesus every knee should bow, of things in heaven, and things in earth, and things under the earth.” Dare devil spirits are things, so they have to bow too! God truly does have the best answer for every situation!

Love, Carolyn

PERSONAL NOTE: I write these articles to help regular people like you and me. I don’t write them because I have all the perfect doctrine figured out or because I always make the right decisions. God has me share my weaknesses, errors, and sins, because He knows what He got when He got me and He knows I’m not afraid to expose my mistakes. In all these experiences the Lord has never let me go, but has made me knowledgeable and given me understanding. He’s provided me with specific keys, implements and weapons to share with others so that together we can overcome, conquer and rise in victory over any of life’s obstacles . I love you very much. In Christ, Carolyn

PS: Couldn’t leave the page without reminding you that my book is full of super situations, amazing victories and great stories. Available on Amazon for only $11.57 (paperback) and e-book only $9.25.

Leave a comment